Handicapping The GOP Field Now…

It’s actually been a while since we have looked at the entire GOP field of candidates for president and looked at their chances, so let’s spend some time today going over it.

DONALD TRUMP: He’s been the front-runner since he announced. He’s bucked the pundits by hanging around so long because he’s tapped into some anger that regardless who you send to DC, it doesn’t change. Trump promises change. Does he have the oomph to get it done? That is the big question. Most say he gets about 25% of the vote in the GOP and that he’s pretty much at his ceiling…so when others start dropping out, their supporters will go elsewhere. We’ll see.

BEN CARSON: A newcomer to politics, Ben Carson could be the smartest guy in the room. He’s certainly done more with his career to help mankind than everyone else. Does he have the staying power, and the ability to win? Those are the two big questions, but there’s no doubt he has the intelligence!

JEB BUSH: He’s not his father, and he’s not his brother. He’s tried to make that abundantly clear. He has. And it’s not a good thing. He lacks the fire in the belly that W. had. He lacks the compassion that HW had. He’s got the name. And that’s about all. Don’t look for him to be the nominee.

MARCO RUBIO: I was upset at Mitt Romney for not picking Rubio as his VP. He could have won had he done that. Rubio has shown the world he’s ready for the big stage. He’s certainly better than his current US Senate position. He’s impressive in debate, has a great back-story, and while I don’t agree with him on immigration, I think he’s a good choice. Watch him carefully. One of the few career politicians that will stay around a while.

TED CRUZ: There’s something about this guy I don’t like. Maybe it’s his nose? I like what he says, but I don’t like his attitude. He’s toned it down quite a bit, but I look at him like Donald Trump lite. I just don’t think he’s got the ability to lead. I haven’t been impressed!

CARLY FIORINA: If I was going to root for a “first female president”, this is my choice. Smart, combative, able to mix it up with the best of them, and I think she’s winning over the American public slow but sure. She’d make a hell of a Secretary of State, that’s for damn sure! President? Sorry Carly…too many ahead of you.

RAND PAUL: Nope. Following in his father’s footsteps, he’s going to fall woefully short.

JOHN KASICH: I like John. I’ve known him for a long time…since he was in the House. He’s not a conservative, he’s a RINO, but he’s a nice guy and tries. He doesn’t take guff from anyone, so he’d be MUCH better than Obama. I just don’t think he’s got the personality to win.

MIKE HUCKABEE: I hate to say this, but he’s too religious. I don’t think you can win being uber-religious in this country anymore. That’s sad. But I think it’s true.

CHRIS CHRISTIE: Bridgegate killed any chances he had. Too brash…too “New Jersey”…but I like the look now that he’s lost the weight.

SCOTT WALKER: He’s been a disappointment. He was my early favorite, but he’s faded fast. No personality, no fire in the belly, and the “I’ve beaten the left in Wisconsin, I can do it nationally” is wearing thing. We need to see more Scott, quickly!

RICK PERRY: Dead duck. Ain’t gonna fly. He will be the first to drop out of the race…money problems.

FIELD: This would include Bobby Jindal, George Pataki, Rick Santorum, Lindsay Graham, and Jim Gilmore. They’re lumped together for one reason. They’re talking up oxygen. They’re taking up space. They need to leave and soon. They have no hope of ever becoming the nominee.

Carry on world…you’re dismissed!

8 thoughts on “Handicapping The GOP Field Now…

  1. I think that is a very good assessment of the situation. Perry is done for: Christie’s brashness is a turn-off to most unless you’re from that area: Walker seems a bit soft and we need steal ones: Huckabee, I like him! But, I sadly think you are right and the religion thing – which I admire – will turn the masses off: Fiorina I think has a pretty good shot so this we may differ on a bit, for NOW 🙂 : Cruz, no: Rubio, I like him but not his immigration reform: Carson is my favorite! I worry that he won’t ‘pack that punch’ that he needs. People may see his softness as weakness, though I do not.: And Trump: Well, I have to say I like him and his no BS stance. He may surprise us all but only if he can win over the GOP and in a big way. Good stuff sir! 🙂

    • Thanks. Don’t get me wrong…I love Carly. I think a Carly/Hillary matchup would be great. And I feel the same way about Carson you do. Trump? Well, I’m not sold on him yet. From all of the “professional politicians”, I like Rubio the best even with the immigration thing. He just doesn’t have any executive leadership abilities. And we’ve seen what that costs us. Time will tell!

      • Yeah…I do like Rubio but I just don’t think he is tough enough, yet, to take on leading all those strong personalities without caving to them… But, admittedly, I could be very wrong about him! Well, this race is proving to be an interesting one that’s for sure! And, you are right, it’s time for the folks to start bowing out who clearly have no chance….

Leave a Reply

