Sorry, Your Holiness!

DISCLAIMER: OK…I am NOT Catholic. I have nothing against Catholics, I have nothing against the Catholic Church. The old saying? “Some of my best friends are Catholic”? Yup…that’s true. But I’m not there. I know 25% of America IS Catholic and I think that’s great. I AM a Christian…but just not Catholic.

And it’s with that in mind that I have to say, “I’m sorry Your Holiness”. I’ve already been “Pope Overloaded”. And it’s not even through the first 24 hours. Yes, it was quite a spectacle at Joint Base Andrews yesterday when the Air Italia jet landed and the Pope showed up. What a welcoming committee! Bobo Obama and his lovely wife Michelle were eager greeters. So was Joe Biden and his lovely wife, Jill were there. The Obamas took their kids out of school for the event. Biden and his wife had their grandkids in tow. The pomp and circumstance were three times that of Oscar night on the Red Carpet! And of course, His Holiness will address a joint session of congress, the first Pope to do that. Then he’ll head up to New York to address the United Nations General Assembly before touring some of the other parts of our fair country.

And it’s just a little too much for me, I’m sorry. I mean, I come from the Methodist Church. We don’t have someone who powerful. I know he’s a head of state, the leader of the largest Christian denomination in the world and all, but to me, he’s just another guy. I don’t care if you live in a mansion in Beverly Hills or the projects in Brooklyn.  You’re human. You have special talents, just like everybody else, but you can’t walk on water and turn bread into wine. I know the Pope is the Vicar of Christ, and that commands some respect, but he IS a man after all. Now, if God or Jesus were here…I’m there. Of course, if it were God or Jesus, they’re everywhere so I guess I wouldn’t have to be “there” to be with them, since they’d be here too!

And I’m not terribly keen on his politics. Oh, we agree on some stuff. I don’t believe in abortion or the death penalty, and I certainly am not for gay “marriage”. God has defined “marriage” as a union between a man and a woman. I don’t care what the Supreme Court says. Whom do you think is higher on the pecking order? God or some robed judge? But I don’t believe in this redistribution of wealth that Pope Francis is high on. Look, I think if a fellow-man (or woman) is in need, we help out to the best of our ability, but stealing from the rich and giving to the poor is from Robin Hood, not the Bible. He may have gotten his books mixed up in seminary.

I’m glad the Pope is here. I hope he does good. Maybe he can teach Obama about the sin of lying while he’s here? Ah, that’s probably asking too much…but to be honest…I’ll be happy when it’s over and we can get back to normal. OK…it’s off my chest…we can return to our regular programming now…

Carry on world…you’re dismissed!

5 thoughts on “Sorry, Your Holiness!

Leave a Reply

