Our REAL Heroes

I want to take just a moment…far too short a time, I recognize, but take a time out from the political commentary of the day to thank all of the men and women of this great country who, at some point in their lives made a sacrifice. No, I’m not talking just about people who gave up a seat on a bus to an old lady, or even about Veterans (yes…I capitalize that word!) who gave the ultimate sacrifice. This is different.

I want to take a moment and thank all the men and women who served this country by putting on the uniform of our armed services. These brave people may have done it for a million different reasons, but they did it. Which is a lot more than I can say for myself. They gave years of their life to this country so that we can be free.

I think of a former boss I had that fought in Vietnam. I cherish that guy. He came home, had a brilliant career, is a gifted singer, and ever better, an honorable and just man, and a loving husband. I think of my former next door neighbor, also a Vietnam Vet that passed away just over a year ago after a battle with cancer. He spent years in the Marine Corp as a drill sergeant, and was every bit the Marine, right until he met God.

I think of the guy I serve on a board with now, who spent time in the Army, and served his country honorably. I can think of so many people who have given of themselves. Today is their day.

What I would wish, is that if nothing else, do something special for a Veteran today. It’s their day, and they’ve more than earned it. Pay for their coffee at Starbucks. Buy them a meal. Pay their toll on the way to work. Give THEM your seat on the train or on the bus.

To all of our Veteran heroes out there, I say thank you from the bottom of my heart. Thank you for the sacrifice you made to keep our country great. Thank you for going half-way round the world to some God-forsaken land fighting people who wanted to do nothing less than wipe us off the map, and putting down that insurrection. God bless you and be with you always!

Carry on world…you’re dismissed!

5 thoughts on “Our REAL Heroes

  1. Pingback: Our REAL Heroes | Rifleman III Journal
  2. If you are going to Cap Marine, do not lower case army.

    From: Desert Musings To: ale_bee@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, November 11, 2015 10:05 AM Subject: [New post] Our REAL Heroes #yiv1385030283 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv1385030283 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv1385030283 a.yiv1385030283primaryactionlink:link, #yiv1385030283 a.yiv1385030283primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv1385030283 a.yiv1385030283primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv1385030283 a.yiv1385030283primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv1385030283 WordPress.com | desertradio posted: “I want to take just a moment…far too short a time, I recognize, but take a time out from the political commentary of the day to thank all of the men and women of this great country who, at some point in their lives made a sacrifice. No, I’m not talking ” | |

Leave a Reply

