What I’m Thankful For…

With Thanksgiving here, I’m thankful for a lot this year. Time for the annual “I’m Thankful” blog:

I’m thankful that I live in a state that has so much beauty, so much warmth, and so much sunshine. Wonderful canyons, mountains, plains, and vegetation abound. It’s warmer here than pretty much anywhere throughout most of the year, which I love, and the sun shines over 300 days a year. Compare that to about half that back where I came from!

I’m thankful for family! I love this holiday because of family. My son and his family travel in from Houston, and my daughter and her family travel in from St. Louis. My mom and step-dad live up the street and we have a huge reunion every Thanksgiving. I don’t get to see the grandkids near enough, but this week, I get my fill for a while!

I’m thankful for freedom. There are a ton of things wrong with this country right now, but with all the negatives out there, and the fact the liberals want to take more of our liberties away, we still have the freedom to do things like publish this blog every morning. Oh, I’m sure the NSA has a file on me a mile thick, but I don’t care. As long as they stay the hell away, I’ll keep the ray-gun in the closet.

I’m thankful that Barack Obama is almost toast. Just when I think this idiot is done surprising me, he makes a u-turn and does something even more stupid. We’re less than 14 months away from his ultimate demise from power, and I personally can’t wait. It’s also taught us we can afford to screw up with our presidential votes every once in a whle…as long as we don’t elect the Arkansas Princess with her bag of lies, we’ll be OK as a country!

Most of all, I’m thankful to be married to the world’s greatest woman. We’ve been together for 37 years as of next Thursday, and I can’t imagine going on this journey called life without her as my partner. It’s been an incredible ride, and I’m in for another 37 years, Babe!

To everyone out there, Happy Thanksgiving. Take a few minutes today, and count your blessings. God IS great, and has blessed everyone. Make sure to thank Him for his kindness in those blessings! Amen and amen!

And carry on world…you’re dismissed!

7 thoughts on “What I’m Thankful For…

  1. Pingback: What I’m Thankful For… | Rifleman III Journal
  2. WHAT I’M THANKFUL FOR!

    I’m thankful that I’m white and will not be stopped by Sheriff Joe’s storm troopers and if I am, legally I know more than they do. I’m also grateful that with any luck Judge Snow is going to give this thug what he deserves. Unfortunately my dream of seeing Joe locked up in his own tent city wearing pink bra and panties, eating rancid bologna on stale bread in July and August will not happen because this Federal and not State.

    I’m thankful that my family lives elsewhere and I do not see them, although I do miss seeing my cousin Janine in Tennessee (she’s liberal) and my cousin Penny and her family in California because although they think I am a bit strange (it’s true), they do enjoy my visits. My brother lives in the Chicago area a and nd I saw him this summer. I do not have any children and have not been served with court papers to that effect.

    I am thankful for this country and my patriotism which does not extend to dopey car magnets (really, are you going to put a black ribbon magnet on your car saying “support al-queda”?) but to fully funding the VA and not half assed (thank Congress for that) like it is now, preventing the Republicans from imposing Christian sharia law on women because there book of ancient stories tell them to (they are concerned about life until it is born then the precious life can go fuck themselves), imposing cruel and mean spirited laws on the less fortunate while dreaming up ways to give the wealthy individuals and corporations more, fully fund Social Security and Medicare by taking the cap of ALL earnings (when Lloyd Blankfein, chairman of Goldman Sachs making $29 million per year before bonus, tells me I should learn to live with less, fuck you asshole), that diplomacy is better than war and it is fully funded, politicians who are not really interested in our problems but is just a big ego trip for them to get elected and a country that truly believes in the preamble to the Constitution and not cherry picking what suits them. LIBERTY AND JUSTICE FOR ALL NOT THE PRIVILEGED FEW!

    I am thankful for the current crop of Republican candidates because they are clowns with stupid policy position that will never work and will not be elected. As a serious history buff, I always wondered what the Whig party looked like in 1852 before the Republican party was formed. It is happening before my very eyes. I do not mind voting for Hillary as most of the stuff the Republicans say is made up shit, because that is what they do, make up shit. I am thankful that Barack Obama is my president. Do I agree with everything he has done, no, but am willing to admit it. Considering the band of jackals he has to deal with in Congress, he has done an admirable job. The Republicans have not grasped the fact that Obama is the Jackie Robinson of presidential politics and while they continue to insult minorities and essentially do old white people politics, they are sounding their own death knell as the Millennial generation is more diverse and thinks much differently from them. I love the upcoming generations.

    I’m thankful that I have loved three women in my life and two did not work out as planned but I understand why. I’m thankful for my current relationship as Diane and will be together for five years on New Year’s Eve and look forward to spending the rest of my life with her. She has been faithful companion that defies description through my health issues, listening to my dopey stories over and over again, my rants, my weakness and sharing her family with me. Oh yes, her little cat too.. I owe her more than I can ever pay back. We have made plans for the future and my wish is that I live long to share them with her. Thank you.

    Although an atheist, happy Thanksgiving to all and to all a good night.

    Allahu Akbar!

  3. Same to you.

    From: Desert Musings To: ale_bee@yahoo.com Sent: Thursday, November 26, 2015 10:04 AM Subject: [New post] What I’m Thankful For… #yiv3232557888 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3232557888 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3232557888 a.yiv3232557888primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3232557888 a.yiv3232557888primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3232557888 a.yiv3232557888primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3232557888 a.yiv3232557888primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3232557888 WordPress.com | desertradio posted: “With Thanksgiving here, I’m thankful for a lot this year. Time for the annual “I’m Thankful” blog:I’m thankful that I live in a state that has so much beauty, so much warmth, and so much sunshine. Wonderful canyons, mountains, plains, and vegetation abo” | |

Comments are closed.