OK…I Admit…Not What You Expect!

I know I spend a lot of time talking about politics here, but I’d like to take a moment and talk about something I think is a lot more important to me. It was 37 years ago today, in a small chapel at Adrian College, in Adrian, Michigan that the president of that institution joined my wife and me in holy matrimony. And while I don’t usually utilize this space to talk about my own personal life, I’m going to violate that tenet for just this once.

My wife and I met while in college. It wasn’t ever going to turn into a great relationship because I already had a girlfriend back home. Of course, the best laid plans, right? We started seeing each other and it got serious. I knew what I had to do was break it off with the girl back home, because it could never work with my wife and I getting like this.

I was working at the local TV station at the time, and was signing on the station very early in the morning. One particular Friday, I decided I would drive up to my girlfriend’s house in western Michigan, and break off the relationship. It was the only fair thing to do. So, I went to work, signed on the station, worked my shift, went to class, came back to the station and signed it off at midnight, then got in my car and drove 8 hours to her house. I broke up with her, drove back to my mom’s house and said “hi”, and then proceeded to drive the 6 hours back to school. I got back to college well after dark, after having been up for about 36 hours at this time, and went straight to my “college girlfriend’s” apartment. She was waiting for me, and gave me a “Dear John” letter. Oops. Seems I waited too long. She said she just was tired of waiting and wanted to date other people.

Fast forward to three weeks later. I had been dating her pretty solid during that time and was determined I was going to spend every penny I had trying to get her back. We had gone uptown for a Halloween celebration and came back to her place. She was tired and fell asleep. I figured this was not going to happen, so I got up, wrote her a note wishing her well, and headed for the door. Just as I got there, she woke up, stopped me, and asked me not to go…that she had changed her mind. Well, I had my mind already made up. I was going to go home, pack, and head back home and transfer to another school. I told her she was groggy from being asleep, and that I had to work the morning shift at the TV station, and I’d be there between 6am and 9am. If she still felt the same way in the morning, come up to the TV station. I then left.

When I got to the station at 5am, she was sitting there on the floor, waiting for me. She had gotten up, gotten to the TV station and waited all night for me.

The reason I write this today is it’s our anniversary. It’s been 37 years of wedded bliss. And they said it wouldn’t last six months! I couldn’t imagine going through life without my partner, my love, my life. And I wanted to share this with my blogging community. It’s a very special day for us, and I always profess my feelings and the truth here. I wouldn’t be here today if it weren’t for her…and I certainly wouldn’t be HERE in the desert!
That’s my story, and I’m stickin’ to it!

Now, carry on world…you’re dismissed!

4 thoughts on “OK…I Admit…Not What You Expect!

  1. My heartfelt congratulations (you know I am not being sarcastic) and it was a great story. While some experiences fall into the “Man makes plans, God laughs at them” (a previous relationship who was Jewish told me that), may the next 37 years bring you nothing but health and happiness.

    Mazel Tov!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

