My Christmas Wish

I have an awful lot to be thankful for. I always thank God each and every night for the gifts and blessings He has given me. And I truly am grateful for the life I’ve been able to lead. It’s at Christmas time each year that I always look back at the year, and recount all that I am happy to have lived through. This year is no different.

I hope and pray that 2016 allows us as a country to get our heads screwed on straight and to get somebody elected to the White House that is a true leader, not just someone playing president between rounds of golf. I hope our elected officials in congress come together to solve our nation’s problems… or at the very least, call me and ask me what they should do. You know I’m very happy to help out and solve the problems for them. I’ll even let them take the credit!

I’m very happy that I’ve been able to move to the Desert and live my new life. It was a terrific decision, and this year, I’m joined by my wife who’s finally going to retire, IF she actually wants it…it depends on the day. First she wants to retire in September, then it’s December, then it’s in April, then it’s not at all. That’s ok. I went through the same thing. The worst thing anybody can do facing retirement is get into it without anything to do. I’m just glad there are millions of things to do out here from chasing coyotes to killing diamondback rattlesnakes. Just kidding. We can’t chase coyotes…they’re too fast.

I do want to thank a lot of folks for making this a great year. The people I serve on the Board of Directors with are wonderful people all. We don’t always agree, but that’s what life is all about. They are good people and have their heads and their hearts in the right place. I want to thank the management staff that works for the corporation. What truly dedicated professionals they are! I want to thank my family for giving me all they have throughout life. And I want to thank you for taking time out of your busy day and being one of over 16,000 folks to have stopped by and read this stuff from time to time. I’ve made some really good friends that I’ve never met in person, but would like to someday. And a lot of folks that are just plain weird. I won’t differentiate. I thank God for all of you!

To all of you, I wish a very Merry Christmas. May it be filled with Holiness, Health, Wealth, and Happiness. May your new year be one that you can look back on and smile come next December. And may your lives be filled with joy and gladness. Merry Christmas!

Carry on world…you’re dismissed!

2 thoughts on “My Christmas Wish

  1. Well Desert, I may be a bit late on this, I would like to state my Holiday wishes.

    I wish that Republicans nominate one of the current bozos running for the nomination as when the general electorate reviews their positions they will see what crazy really is. If want to see their positions, track down the transcripts of the past debates. The gold standard Ted Cruz? Really? No exceptions to abortions Marco Rubio? Really? And why all of you good men are so interested in have the government staring up women’s vaginas? I thought you were for a less intrusive government. My prediction, Democrats win because the Whig Party of 2016 has alienated too many people with their crazy.

    Congress, take over by Democrats as it appears that Eddie Munster, Speaker of the House will not be able to control the gerrymandered crazies know as the Freedom Caucus (whose Freedom, theirs or ours?) to actually get anything done and repealing Obamacare for the 600th time is not getting anything done, especially since you have no plan for replacement. I guess their mystery meat healthcare plan will go hand in hand with their mystery meat tax cut plan will bring more money to the treasury. Can you actually as a functioning human believe this shit?

    My wish for the New Year is that my Significant Other, Diane, and myself continue to love each other from day to day more than we have this year. I will take that over any of the above.

    Finally, my final wish is that the people who elected me to serve my community, found that I have improved their lives just a little bit more and that their faith in me has served them well. I cannot think of no higher calling than volunteering in a community. I served in VISTA (domestic Peace Corps) for three plus years after college before starting my career and served my community the past three years as soon as I was medically able. I look forward to serving my community again after I take a break for a couple of months.

    To Desert and all his readers, while personally not into that religion stuff as I am an atheist, I do wish all of you Happy Holidays which ever way you swing and a Happy, Healthy and Prosperous New Year.

    • Well, Snarky, I would wish you and Diane a great new year as well…and continued happiness. I wish you safe travels early next year, and I would agree with you on one thing. You helped the people of your community. As far as your politics, it leaves a lot to be desired. Maybe while you are in France, you’ll notice they are taking a very nasty turn to the right in their politics, as is most of Europe thanks to the recent immigration crisis over there. And don’t worry about presidential politics in this country. As long as the Dems close their eyes, hold their noses and vote Hillary, I don’t think the GOP has anything to worry about next November. I know you liken Ted Cruz to Eddie Munster, and yes, I see the resemblance, but Eddie couldn’t debate his way out of a paper bag. Cruz would make mince meat of Clinton. She’s a terrible debater (hence the lack of debates, and those that were held were on Saturday night), and Cruz was a national debate champion. He may not look the part, but he’ll eat her alive.

Comments are closed.