Another Year…Another All White Oscars

Look, I’m not much into movies. I know that for millions of people around the world it’s a fantastic form of entertainment and an escape from reality. And I really do kinda watch movies…but there are very few movies that are coming out today that I care to spend my money on to watch in a theater. I’d just as soon wait until they hit Netflix or Amazon Prime, thank you very much.

OK, so you can call me cheap. And you can call me not a fan of the celluloid arts. And I’m good with that. So why in hell do I care if Spike Lee or Jada Pinkett Smith decides to boycott the Oscars this year? Actually, I could care less. In fact, I’m thinking overall America could care less. It’s not a big deal to me that “persons of color” have been excluded from receiving nominations for the second straight year (yeah…I had to go back and look…I blogged about it last year too!). And I’m sorry that the people that vote for the Oscars didn’t think Straight Outta Compton was worth an Oscar nomination. It probably wasn’t. But I’m not going to lose any sleep because a bunch of people felt they didn’t get what they felt they deserved. That’s called life. You deal with and move on.

Do I think what happened was racist? Nope, not a bit. I don’t because I think the Oscars are voted on by the liberal left anyway, and as they are always telling us, it’s the mean-spirited, hate-filled Republican right that are the ones that are racists. They are the pure and unsoiled. And they are the savers of the planet. Actually, what happens is, those that sell the most tickets and have the best acting abilities are the ones that get nominated. The studio heads that run that industry are interested in one thing: money. They could care if someone is black or white, gay or straight, Jewish or Christian or Muslim or whatever. If they are a box office smash, the studio heads will be behind them, and they will be pushed into the Oscar race. It happens that way every year.

The main point here is that it extends across all of America. There’s a reason why people are at the top of their industry, and I don’t care what the industry is. It’s that they are smarter, or better, or more creative, or whatever. If they weren’t, they wouldn’t be there. And if you don’t measure up to them, you aren’t going to be in the same league. I spent my career in radio broadcasting. Yeah, I did talk shows, but you know something? I was never as famous as Howard Stern. Why? Because he was better than I was. He was better at getting an audience than I was. If I had been as good as him, I would have been a multi-millionaire screaming “Bullshit” on the air just to see if I could get away with it. But I wasn’t. And so, I didn’t measure up. I don’t deny him his rightful place because I’m jealous. I give him his due. The same with people like Rush Limbaugh or Sean Hannity, or Glenn Beck (who I’ve met several times, and no… I don’t like him as a talk show host, but HE was better than me too!)

To the Spike Lee’s and Jada Pinkett Smith’s of the world…get over it. You’re in a high profile business. If you feel you got stepped on it’s probably because you weren’t good enough…not because you are black. Period.

Carry on world…you’re dismissed!

7 thoughts on “Another Year…Another All White Oscars

  1. There are some blacks coming out saying pretty much as you have, telling the whiners if they want an Oscar, PRODUCE! They tend to forget, there were years they got more than their share as well. I don’t go to the theatre often either for a movie, I too tend to wait for it to come out on RedBox. I will go to the BIG screen when it is a movie I want to see on big screen and the better effects, or I don’t want to wait; 13 Hours. I went this past Monday, early show 11:55 AM $6.75 and a medium soft drink, no popcorn, which I normally have to have. It had me shaking my head in disbelief, people working for our Government got stranded like that by two people, Hillary and Obama, nobody else, everyone else was ready to move. Hillary and Obama both should be thrown into solitary confinement, throw away the key, and forget they are there.
    Back on subject….I don’t believe people care one rat’s ass that Spike, Jada or Will are no-shows. People are beginning to care less about these liberal spoiled brats. YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT I AM SAYING! 🙂 lol.

  2. A.L. is right. I don’t recall whites bitching the year that Denzel and Halle Berry won both top acting awards the same year. They won because they kicked ass in their performances. And as a side note, Straight Outta Compton had a song in it called “F*ck Tha Police.” It’s possible that some of the voters in the Academy might have felt that giving the movie a nod might be seen as endorsing anti-cop sentiment. Black Lives Matter would have loved it, but there would have been a whole other controversy over that…..AND even if Straight Outta would have been nominated, the same people bitching now would still be bitching, “Are you kidding me?!! All we got was one nomination?!” You can hear it now.

    Peace, brothers….I’m out!

  3. Yes, let’s hear it for Leonardo DiCaprio in a shit movie based on a true story that in reality is the farthest thing from the truth. Hugh Glass is an amazing story in and of itself, but this piece of historical dreck will probably win him an Oscar and maybe best picture. At least The Martian knows it’s fiction and Straight Outta Compton is based on real life.

    Oh, how do I know The Relevant is a piece of shit, one it’s a novel and two, my degree in U.S. History specializing in Trans-Mississippi history. Desert knows that I know of what I speak.

    I would have a beer after this posting, but I have left Belgium to its own devices and pathetic existence and am currently residing in Paris, enjoying a very nice Rhone with a terrific coq au vin at a bistro that was subject to an attack several weeks ago. I stand with our oldest ally against ignorance and fear and I’m talking to you Trump and Cruz. Carry on and eat your hearts out.

    • Whoa! Wait A Doggone Minute!!! (he says as he throws the bullshit flag!). I thought you told someone not too long ago that you specialized your history degree (history by the way is NOT capitalized) in olde English history??? Was that a double specialization unless you found someone from Mississippi that was from olde England? Hmm. Enjoy the coq au vin!

Leave a Reply

