“Heeeere’s Johnny!”

You’ll have to forgive my maudlin sense of humor this morning, but that’s what I imagined Tim Kaine saying throughout the debate last night. It’s a line from the old Jack Nicholson movie “The Shining”. Is it just me or did Kaine look like Jack Nicholson right as he was announcing that line from the movie?

Look, I’ll admit straight up that I didn’t hang around for the whole shebang. I just couldn’t stomach it on several levels. I thought Pence did a nice job, not a great job, but a nice job. But Kaine was totally out of control. It’s like somebody set his button to “overload” or something. And those eye brows? No, I usually don’t make fun of a person’s appearance, but my gosh! Can you see that guy going up against Putin or even Kim Jung Un? Highly doubtful.

I thought Elaine Quijano was so out her league she needs to go back to high school and moderate a student council debate. She clearly was not in control of the situation. There was a difference between a Lester Holt, who let Clinton and Trump go at it, but still had control of the debate, and Quijano who could barely be heard above Kaine’s incessant interruptions. It was extremely annoying. And it was annoying to the point that my wife turned to me 20 minutes into the hour and a half long debate and said, “You know I like watching these debates probably more than you, but this is just too much. Can we PLEASE watch something on the DVR instead of this crap!?” I totally agreed with her.

There’s not a shred of doubt anywhere that Kaine lost the debate big time, and with it lost a lot of opportunities. From what I saw, he tried (and failed) to tie Pence to Trump’s antics, without even beginning to explain Hillary’s foibles (which are many). Pence was straight forward and calm throughout. Where Trump got riled when Hillary interrupted him and threw things at him, Pence was a cucumber and sat there looking straight ahead, never changing his facial expressions (at least in the first 20 minutes).

It didn’t take me long to realize, with the health problem scares that Hillary is still exhibiting, and the opening question about the number two needing to step in “in a heartbeat”, Tim Kaine is NOT the guy we want running this country when and if Hillary decides to be honest about her health and either dies or steps down for health reasons.

That said, I can’t fully explain the whole debate, and frankly nor do I want to. Even your loyal Desert Man has limits when it comes to watching bad television. And thanks to the moderator, Elaine Quijano, this was about as bad as it gets!

Carry on world…you’re dismissed!

