It’s Thanksgiving!

So, we sort of, kind of leave politics to the side a little bit today. Hey, it’s Thanksgiving and this year I have a lot to be thankful for:

I’m thankful that my family is here. My daughter, son-in-law, and their two kids came in this past Saturday. My son, my daughter-in-law, and their two kids came in Sunday. My mom lives up the street so we have a nice family gathering as we have for the past four years.

I’m thankful for having the world’s greatest wife. She retired on November 4th after spending 27 years in the Nursing Home industry. No one deserves it (or appreciates it) more!

I’m thankful that 39 years ago today, in a church parking lot in Wadsworth, Ohio, when I asked her to marry me, she replied, “Can I think about it?” Of course, then she said yes!

I’m thankful for the fact that she had a pulmonary embolism about two months ago, and our doctor caught it on a hunch. I’m thankful she’s alive!

I’m thankful I live in a country where we DO apparently know the difference between right and wrong. And though more people don’t, we have something called the Electoral College that fixes their mistake!

I’m thankful that we’ve ended the long, 30-year Clinton reign of power in this country and that now they will have to stand up to their illegal activities.

I’m thankful for Detroit Lions football on Thanksgiving. They’ve been doing that ever since I’ve been alive, and it helps make Thanksgiving better…though I’m still trying to get used to football starting at 10am out here in the Desert!

I’m thankful for being able to give back to this community by serving as a director on their Board of Directors for the past two years, and looking forward to next year! It’s been a lot of fun, and some frustrations, but I’ve gotten to know some very intelligent, friendly, great people in that two years. I can’t imagine having to go on this journey without them.

I’m thankful for the men and women who aren’t spending Thanksgiving with their families this year. Instead, they are strewn across the globe, making us free and serving in the armed services. Their sacrifice means so much to me! It should mean so much to every American!

And I’m thankful I live in a country like the United States. Even having to suffer through eight years of an idiot president who doesn’t understand right from wrong, we have persevered and will survive! Things WILL get better!

Happy Thanksgiving everyone. Now get out there and celebrate…

Carry on world…you’re dismissed!

4 thoughts on “It’s Thanksgiving!

  1. Well Desert, I will join you in paying tribute to this Thanksgiving holiday.

    I am thankful for my significant other, Diane who saw me through another of my many medical procedures with a minimum amount of complaining and a lot of love and compassion. I thank the Flying Spaghetti Monster every day for her. Also thankful that she is allowing me to run for the Board even though when I completed my term last year I said that was it. She said this is what you do, help people.

    I am grateful that our Constitution provides for impeachment of the president as the Orange Orangutan has shown he is a clueless clown and will commit high crimes and misdemeanors.

    I am grateful that the millions that voted for Trump are going to get screwed royally finding out too late that he really is Don the Con. He is backing off or abandoning his big promises.Suckers!

    I am grateful that the Republicans are coming after your health care including Medicare and Medicaid, but you will still have your guns. Maybe you can take a doctor hostage and have him treat you at gunpoint. I was correct so many years ago when I said that Obama is not coming after your guns, the Republicans are coming after your health care. We can now add Social Security to this. Thanks Paul Ryan, you turned out to be the ideological dick I always thought you were.

    I am grateful that I know the truth about the Pilgrims, Thanksgiving and the Native Americans. We begin the ethnic cleansing of America tomorrow because it’s God’s will. Don’t believe me, look it up. The Great Awakening.

    I am grateful that Barack Obama was president as he made intelligent decisions and didn’t nominate hack loyalists, bootlickers, ideologues and patently unqualified people. I will miss the First Lady, Melia and Sasha.

    Finally, I am grateful that Hillary won the popular vote by a margin not seen since 1876. The first time the Republicans stole an election.

    Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

Leave a Reply

