Saying “Merry Christmas”

I’ve always thought that we Americans should say “Merry Christmas” to each other at this time of the year. No, I fully understand we have folks that are Jewish that celebrate Hanukkah, and we’ve got other religions that don’t recognize Christmas. And quite frankly, I’ve always felt a little strange saying “Happy Holidays”.

That’s one of the things I like about Donald Trump…and again, for those of you that don’t read my stuff regularly, I haven’t been a huge Trump supporter calling him the “second worst candidate ever to run for president” (Hillary Clinton was the worst)….is the fact that Trump says we as a nation are going to say “Merry Christmas” again. I like that. It’s a little thing, but it’s really a big thing in my mind.

We as a nation have drifted way too far to the left. We bought into this notion that we all had to be “politically correct”. I really never did, and just felt weird when I adopted one of the left’s phrases. I’ve never called the guy (or gal) that delivers my mail a “post-person”. They are my mailman. I don’t care about the gender thing. They aren’t a “congresswoman”, that just sounds stupid. They are a congressman. It’s time we did away with the PC crap and got back to living normal lives. If the libs want to do something more with PC, I suggest they all move to California, take chainsaws with them, and cut it across the Arizona and Nevada borders and become their own country. In fact, I think most of America would welcome that.

So, I suggest we get on board the Trump Train with at least this one item this year. Let’s all start saying “Merry Christmas”, rather than “Happy Holidays”. Oh, and by the way…I’ve checked with several Jewish friends…they’re ok with it. They say that they understand they are living in a Christian-Judeo country, and that most people celebrate Christmas. Some have even said that if we were in Israel, they would still feel ok saying “Merry Christmas”, even though the whole country is Jewish…so let’s just get back to normal, shall we?

As far as the other stuff Donald Trump wants and tells us is going to be happening in order to “Make America Great Again”, I say let’s give the guy time, and as Ronald Reagan said, “trust, but verify”. If he does half of the stuff he talked about in his campaign, the country will veer closer to the right than the odd nightmare of a journey we’ve been on the last eight years. And frankly, it’s time to get back to a normal lifestyle…without the freaks and dweeb shows we’ve been witnessing over the almost decade we’re just leaving. That is no way to live, and I think (though I’m not 100% convinced yet) that Donald Trump is going to help get us closer to what is less freakish.

That said, let me be one of the first to wish you all,

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Carry on world…you’re dismissed!

