Streep’s Rant

So Meryl Streep joined the list of the “officially over the hill gang” at the Golden Globes last night. And no…the Desert Man has MUCH more important things to do with his limited time than to waste any of it dealing with watching this crap! But I did read a transcript of Meryl’s idyllic rant after receiving the Lifetime Achievement award. She basically tore into Donald Trump saying, ““Hollywood is crawling with outsiders and foreigners. And if we kick them all out, you’ll have nothing to watch but football and Mixed Martial Arts, which are not the arts”. And after I read her speech, I came away with one thought…

Who the hell cares what Meryl Streep thinks about anything?

She is an actress. Some say a damn good actress, I’ve never been particularly fond of her stuff, but then again, I’m far from a movie critic. But being an actress, even a great actress doesn’t mean anybody anywhere gives a rat’s ass what you think about stuff outside of acting. I remember back about 25 years ago, there was the Alar scare, where we were using the pesticide on apples. Congress saw fit to bring in Meryl Streep to testify on the subject. Why? Not because she knew much about Alar, or apples for that matter. She had played a farm wife in a movie once. Huh? That qualifies for being an expert to testify in front of congress?

I’m always at a loss when I see things like the idiotic PSA’s that the has-been and never-was gang recorded during the Electoral College vote run up and then recently. They’re all atwitter because Donald Trump got elected president. I really don’t care what any of them say. In my mind, all I saw in the couple of PSA’s I watched were people that I haven’t seen do any real acting in 20 years. Mike Ferrell…Loretta Swit…Sally Field…Lena Dunham…Martin Sheen? What have these guys contributed to society in the past 20 years, and why do we give a damn what they think? I’ve had the opportunity to interview most of those people (not Lena Dunham…she was in diapers when I was doing my interviewing thing), and they’re all a bunch of empty heads. They know their craft, and they are good at that…I’ll give it to them, but when it comes to other stuff, like climate warming change, and politics? C’mon…my eleven year old granddaughter knows more about it than these buffoons.

Why America clamors to hear what these people have to say on any subject is beyond me. They aren’t experts in anything but make believe. And some of them aren’t that good at that. So now Meryl Streep, the “grand lady of American drama” has joined the list of the has-beens and never will be’s, and spouts off about stuff she knows absolutely nothing about. Note to Meryl: You research your roles before you start filming a movie…just so you can get the nuances right on your character. I would strongly suggest before you open your mouth and make a fool of yourself in front of millions of people, that you do the same thing about real life. You might find it would help you become a little more intelligent sounding!

Carry on world…you’re dismissed!

One thought on “Streep’s Rant

Comments are closed.