Super Finish?

First off, you have to understand, I’m not a Tom Brady fan. Oh, it’s not that I thought he cheated using under-inflated footballs. It’s not that I think the team he plays for has been caught cheating several times. It’s that he went to the wrong college. I lived 30 minutes from Ann Arbor, but never liked U of M. Both my parents did their undergraduate degrees at Michigan State, and my mother got her PhD there as well. That is the beginning of my dislike of Tom Brady.

But I know greatness when I see it, and performing the greatest Super Bowl come from behind in history, is greatness. Also winning five Super Bowl titles qualifies. Also playing for a team that’s been to more Super Bowls than any other team out there qualifies. You have to forgive my sad-sack Detroit Lions, who last won an NFL Championship game in 1957 (long before it was “super”, and long before there were 32 teams in the league!)

Tom Brady’s remarkable come from behind performance was uncanny and unbelievable. It took a mediocre game with not much to cheer about unless you’re from Atlanta, and turned it into probably the most exciting game in Super Bowl history. Not probably…it was. And though I’m still not a fan of either Brady, or New England, I know greatness when I see it. This was greatness.

As far as the rest of the evening was concerned, I’ll say this…Lady Gaga was over-rated. It was about the same as every other Super Bowl halftime show I’ve seen over the last five or six years. I mean, how many times have we seen people “fly in” to the stadium? It’s happened before, right? And how creative can you really get with three or four songs? Frankly, I’d much rather just watch a band play their hits (and she did…but still…) without all of the dance, all of the hoopla…all of the people on the field waving candles and being excited that she’s on the field with them. Enough already. Does anybody remember who did the first halftime show? It was the University of Arizona Symphonic Marching Band, along with the Grambling State Marching Band, and a High School drill team. No fireworks, no flying in from the top of the arena (it was played at Memorial Coliseum in LA). How about an easier one…who did the halftime show last year? Answer: Coldplay, Bruno Mars, and Beyoncé. Nobody remembers.

The ads were better than in the past, but still lack the creativity, and frankly I thought were too political. Sorry Coke. Sorry Budweiser. Enough already with the PC stuff, and the immigration stuff. Stick to selling your brews. Other than that, a couple that made me chuckle, but nothing outrageous.

No, the game was the star this year. That’s the way it should be every year. So on that account, thank you Tom Brady. Thank you Bill Belichick. You guys were great!

Carry on world…you’re dismissed!

Leave a Reply

