Oscar YAWN!

Yeah, I’m going to be showing my age here, so you’ve been warned. I remember there was a time, a LONG time ago, when I actually had watched all of the Oscar nominated movies that I could get into. I say “I could get into” because there were a few back then that were rated above my age level and I couldn’t see. Oh, I managed to see The Godfather…but there were others.

Today, I not only haven’t seen any of the movies that are up for Oscars, I couldn’t even tell you their names. It’s not that I have lost the love for the cinema…it’s that the cinema has moved on and lost my interest by thinking they are something they are not. Let’s face facts here…movies are an escape. They exist solely to entertain and take us for 90 minutes or so to another place and/or time and let us get immersed in a story. That’s it. And the people that make movies do a decent job at that, but they aren’t magical, nor are they special. They are people doing a job.

And so, I find it very difficult to even care what’s going on with the Oscars. Oh, I know my mother will be watching. I’m sure there hasn’t been an Oscar presentation in the last 80 years that woman hasn’t seen. And I’m sure there are quite a few folks that will tune in, but I can tell you I won’t be one of them. I have a LOT better things to do with my time than listen to a bunch of wannabe politicians and left-wing snowflakes scream about how America is going to hell. They don’t have a clue when it comes to politics, they aren’t that well read on the issues, and they don’t influence anybody I know on the issues. So why are they still talking?

And that is what all of these award shows have become…a chance for the Hollywood elite to stand at a microphone and spew whatever weird trash comes out of their mouths. They certainly have a right to do it (yes, the First Amendment DOES apply to them too). And I have a First Amendment right not to care about what they say. Hell, I could write their acceptance speeches right now without knowing whose up!

The Oscars lost their mainstream appeal several years ago when they decided to start nominating more “artsy” films rather than movies people actually went to see. Oh, there have been the exceptions for sure, but overall, Hollywood took on this persona that they were more “elite” than the rest of us in determining what was art. These are the same people that have been arrested with hookers in the back seat of cars, arrested for DUI’s in various stages of undress, have been thrown off airplanes, and charged with beating up photographers and reporters. It sounds like they have more in common with the NFL and NBA than everyday Americans. And maybe it’s just me, but the movies haven’t gotten better. Oh, they’ve gotten artsier, if that’s a word…but that’s not what I go to the movies for. In fact, nowadays, I go to the movies with my grandkids. The last movie I saw (which was actually pretty funny) was The Secret Life of Pets.

So, if you’re going to be one to sit through the Oscars this weekend, have at it and enjoy yourself. Me? I think I’ll wash my hair!

Carry on world…you’re dismissed!

