You Can’t Ask What???

Several states and even some cities are coming out with one of the most asinine laws I’ve ever heard about. Let’s say you’re going to a job interview. And for grins and giggles, let’s say that you have made it through the first couple of rounds and now you’re going to be zeroing on talking money. In a lot of states, and a few cities, they are thinking of passing a law that makes it illegal for a prospective employer from asking you, “How much money do you make”? No more salary history.

That’s like going into a car dealership and not being able to ask the dealer how much is that snazzy red convertible on the showroom floor…just pay the man when you leave. What a crock!

Well, it’s all being done in the fairness of “pay equity”. How that works to insure that men and women get paid the same thing, I’ll never know, but apparently that’s the whole deal. The argument is that if a prospective employer asks you for a salary history, and let’s say the job you are applying for should pay between $80,000 and $100,000 depending on experience, and you’ve made $60,000, you could be under-selling yourself. If you made $150,000 you’re too expensive. But don’t you think that is between you and the employer? Am I mistaken, or do you have a gun to your head to accept that job (if offered)?

This is one of the most ludicrous bills I’ve ever heard of. Part of a job interview is salary negotiations. Obviously, the employer is trying to pay as little as they can in order to get you to come to work for them, and obviously, you are trying to get the most money you can. There is nothing in the world that forces you to take that job if you don’t like the money being offered. You can always refuse the offer and take your talents elsewhere. And it does nothing to stop pay inequality.

If I’m an employer and some man walks in, and again, the job pays between $80,000 and $100,000 depending on experience, what stops me from offering the guy $95,000? If a woman walks in, what stops me from offering $80,000? And that’s just the money side of it. What if I gave the guy four weeks of vacation and a company car with a $2,000 a month expense account, and I gave the woman two weeks of vacation, no company car, and a $1,000 a month expense account? That’s still pay inequality, and it still isn’t equal. This law does absolutely nothing to combat that.

Here we have another stupid example of liberals trying to legislate morality. You can’t do it. You can try but it’ll never end up happening. Paying women and men the same for the same job should be a no brainer…but if the woman is going to be asking for time off when the kids are sick, or when she gets pregnant, or decides she wants the job and is a worse negotiator than the guy who holds out for more bucks, is that the fault of the woman or the employer? Yeah…I thought so.

Carry on world…you’re dismissed!

4 thoughts on “You Can’t Ask What???

  1. In addition, with salary.com and LinkedIn Salary and Greendoor.com and so many other sites, it is quite easy to find out what you are worth to an employer based on your years of experience, education level, geographic location, skill sets, title and industry. There is no excuse anymore for someone to walk into an interview not knowing a ballpark for their value. If a woman doesn’t know what she’s worth going into an interview, than she’s lazy. It’s too easy to take 30 minutes and research it on free websites. Besides, if you throw out a number that’s too high, you don’t lose the job – they simply offer you something lower and you can take it or leave it or argue why you think you are worth more. This is a law for a non-problem. But gain, in current culture its all about the FEEEEELZ. It’s this kind of crap that forced HR departments to create inane titles like; AP Clerk I, AP Clerk IA, AP Clerk II, AP Clerk IIA, AP Clerk III, AP Clerk IIIA – to avoid being sued for income disparities within a job title. If you parse any ONE job title up into a DOZEN $1,000 a year increments up or down then an AP Clerk II making $1,000 less than an AP Clerk IIA is fine because they don’t have the same “job.” So aim high for that “Senior II Director A Level III Corporate Operations” job title!

  2. Well Desert, back in the day when I was a hippie in search of a career, I did many job interviews and no one asked what my previous salary, crappy as it was. When the job offer was made, I was told what the salary was going to be. With unemployment compensation running out in a week and my girl friend wanting to kick me out on the street when she returned from Europe, I accepted the offer and began a great career. Later, when upper management decided that I was not going to jump up on the board room table waving a red flag proclaiming the revolution, I was promoted to middle management. I was given a department to run (actually I was the department), tasked with interviewing people for clerical positions, interviewing prospective college grads for entry level positions and also writing job descriptions for the entire branch office.

    I admit I am not turned in to the current work culture that AWC seems to be immersed in, but I believe she has not had the experience I had in the hiring process. Job descriptions are necessary as they lay qualifications, expectations and any interviewer with authority to hire worth their salt will explain pay grade within the position. I am no fan of HR as they are usually clueless as to the job you perform and somehow flatten middle management promotion opportunities.

    Glad I am retired also as I can redirect my skills and attitude in different directions.

    Now if I can only find out when I submit my expense account for my volunteer job.

    • Gee…another thing we agree on??? This is getting weird. By the way…you can turn in your expense account to me. I’ll see to it that it gets to the “right department”. You believe me, right???

Leave a Reply

